---
title: Can I delete recordings?
description: AI video recording project
---

[Skip to content](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/can-i-delete-recordings#main-content)

English

Show submenu for translations

[![niot-prism-logo-DcB0IMXL](https://support.evidencebased.education/hs-fs/hubfs/niot-prism-logo-DcB0IMXL.png?width=282&height=100&name=niot-prism-logo-DcB0IMXL.png)](https://niot.greatteaching.com)

Open main navigation

Close main navigation

- English
  
  Show submenu for translations
- [Contact support](mailto:ecf@niot.org.uk)

[Contact support](mailto:ecf@niot.org.uk)

 How can we help you?

- There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

1. [Prism Knowledge Base](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism?hsLang=en)
2. [Lesson recording](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en)
3. [ECTs](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en#ects)

# Can I delete recordings?

Yes, you have the option to delete your lesson recordings. What happens next depends on **when** you delete the recording. 

**Deleting a recording before it is uploaded** 

You can delete a recording immediately after you stop recording, before it is uploaded. 

You might want to do this if: 

- You accidentally started recording

- Sensitive information was captured

- Pupils came into view unexpectedly

If you delete a recording at this stage: 

- It is **not shared** with your mentor

- It is **not transcribed**

- It is **not used for research**

Once deleted, the recording cannot be recovered. 

 

**Deleting a recording after it is uploaded** 

You can also delete a recording after it has been uploaded.  

If you do this: 

- The video is **deleted from your account** and **your mentor’s account**

- **Transcripts** will still be **retained** for research (unless you have opted out).

 

**Automatic deletion after 30 days** 

All video recordings are automatically deleted after 30 days. This short retention period: 

- Minimises storage of your and your pupils’ personal data

- Still allows you and your mentor enough time to watch the video for your development

After 30 days: 

- The video is permanently deleted

- Transcripts will be retained for research (unless you have opted out)

 

- [Getting Started](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/getting-started?hsLang=en)
- [Account Troubleshooting](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/account-troubleshooting?hsLang=en)
- [Using Prism](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#main-content)

    - [Induction Tutors](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#induction-tutors)
    - [Mentors](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#mentors)
    - [ECTs](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#ects)
    - [AC Admins](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#ac-admins)
    - [Regional / NIoT Admins](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/using-prism?hsLang=en#regional-niot-admins)
- [Lesson recording](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en#main-content)

    - [Induction Tutors](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en#induction-tutors)
    - [Mentors](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en#mentors)
    - [ECTs](https://support.evidencebased.education/prism/lesson-recording?hsLang=en#ects)

[![powered-by-gtt-CIRrn5dM](https://support.evidencebased.education/hubfs/powered-by-gtt-CIRrn5dM.svg "powered-by-gtt-CIRrn5dM")](http://evidencebased.education)

Copyright © 2025, Evidence Based Education